TLAOK FAQ & Update Log

Conquest: The Last Argument of Kings is a living Wargame, with rules changing to the better according to the design team’s directions and in tune with our Community’s voice.

This section is updated with the newest questions added on the very top of the list.

Table of Contents

FAQ

Core Rules

Last Updated: 27/06/2025

The Charging Regiment immediately moves the minimum amount needed to no longer overlap with the Regiment it overlaps and – the Charging Regiment – becomes Broken.

There is no intention to hide Reinforcements from your Opponent and therefore pages 20 and 21 have been updated to ask Players to immediately reveal their Reinforcements as soon as they are determined.

Throughout development, “not being able to Seize” and “counting as 0 Stands for the purposes of Seizing” have been used interchangeably. To ensure consistency and ease of reference, rules that prohibit the Seizing of Zones will be updated to state that the affected Stands count as “0” for Seizing. Until this wording is fully updated, both expressions are considered equivalent and interact accordingly.

The intention is to only have one Enemy Regiment take the Hits and for this the Trample (X) wording is adjusted as follows: At the end of this Regiment’s Activation, choose one Enemy Regiment in contact with this Regiment’s front arc

Mounted Noble Lord and Noble Lord are separate entries regardless of whether they can be Activated with the same Command Card. However, the different versions of the Priory Commander are upgrades to the same Army List Entry and as a result they count as being the same.

“Choose Spell & Target” part of the Core Rules page 80 has been updated to clarify that when in contact with an Enemy Regiment the Spellcaster counts as having Line of Sight to it.

The “Determining the Number of Shots” part of the Core Rules page 40 has been updated to clarify the order of operations. First one adds up all the Shots together and then applies any negative modifiers.

Yes – the Regiment is performing a March even if that is a part of another Action or ability and as a result “Marching Through” and “Charging Through” Rules apply – unless otherwise stated in the rules.

Effects of Being Broken part of the rules page 60 has been updated to resolve this interaction.

Yes – as long as the Regiment does not end its move within such a piece of Terrain.

Fly Special Rule has been updated to reflect the change.

During the second part of a Reform – where the Regiment rotates 180° – you may have your Regiment move through an unengaged Friendly Regiment.

Wording has been updated to reflect the change.

Simple put – You need more Stands total AND more Seizing Stands.

As long as both of these are true – you Seize the Objective Zone.

The Regiment Engaging the Objective Marker is indeed Engaged and therefore another Friendly Regiment would not Charge through it.

Tenacious may ignore Deadly Blade Hits as they are regular Hits that cause more Wounds.

Only Regiments that are in the path of the Charging Regiment are pushed. When another Regiment is directly behind the Target Regiment there is no need to move as it does not interfere with the Charge Move.

 Different cases of Re-Rolls are handled as follows:
a) When one ability calls you to Re-Roll all fails and another to Re-Roll all successes the abilities cancel out.
b) When one ability calls you to partial Re-Roll fails (e.g. Re-Roll 1’s) and another to partial Re-Roll successes (e.g. Re-Roll 6’s) the abilities cancel out.
c) When one ability calls you to Fully Re-Roll successes/fails and another to partially Re-Roll successes/all fails then partial Re-Rolling is ignored.

Yes. 
a) As per the Zonal Terrain Rules “When a Stand has any part of it within those extents, then it is considered to be within this piece of Zonal Terrain.” 
b) As per the Obscuring Rules “A Stand drawing Line of Sight through this piece of Zonal Terrain as part of a Volley Action and/OR Targets a Regiment with all of its Stands in a piece of Obscuring Zonal Terrain, halves the X value in its Barrage (X) Special Rule (rounding up) to a minimum of 1.”
c) As “in a piece” is defined as “within” by Zonal Terrain Rules you would benefit from Obscuration through the Zonal Terrain’s Special Rules regardless of whether any line drawn from the Volleying Regiment has been interrupted by Obscuring terrain or not.

When you Charge an Objective Marker you are in Contact with it as if you have Charged an Enemy Regiment and therefore cannot Volley, Charge or March away. You can Withdraw and then continue acting as usual.

Rules As Written you can. The ability to March or Charge through an Objective Marker is not affected by whether it is in contact with a Regiment or not.

In an instance where multiple game entities are Always able of something the rules cancel each other out regardless of how many entities are on each side.

Always supersedes Never/Cannot. If a Rule mentions that a Regiment is Always able of something, then that supersedes Rules that mention “Never”, Cannot or indirectly remove the ability to do something

Any kind of move triggers Dangerous and Perilous terrain as the Special Rules for these Terrain types requires a Regiment “moving” in or through it not performing a particular Action.

When a Regiment performs a Withdraw Action is only considered to have performed a single Action, that is Withdraw. The individual steps taken to physically move the Regiment and resolve the Withdraw Action follow the Reform and March rules without also turning a Withdraw Action into a Reform and a March as well. For all intents and purposes the Regiment counts as having performed a single Withdraw Action.

Yes. So long as the Regiment with Lethal Demise is Engaged with an Enemy Regiment, all Wounds they suffer from failed Defense Rolls from an Engaged Enemy Regiment will cause a Hit from the Lethal Demise Special Rule, and will be inflicted on the Enemy Regiment that caused the Wound(s).

The effects of Inspiration do not stack. If a Regiment has gained the benefits of being Inspired then applying that same Inspiration bonus again, no matter the source of the bonus, will not cause it to stack.

Whenever you compare a dice roll to a Characteristic, it is referred to as a Characteristic Test.

Whenever a Regiment performs an Action, every Stand in that Regiment is considered to be performing that Action. This does not include Character specific Actions.

E.g. If the Regiment performs a Charge Action then all Stands in the Regiment, including Character Stands count as having performed that Action. On the other hand, if a Character Stand has performed a Duel Action, the other Stands in the Regiment do not count as having performed a Duel Action.

 When performing a Volley Action (when range attacks cause Morale Tests) or Casting Spells that cause direct Hits against a Regiment’s Flank or Rear, that Regiment does not Re-Roll successful Morale Tests.

Yes, all Stands including Character Stands are affected by Draw Events and Special Rules and/or their effects, bestowed upon the Regiment during the game. 

You announce which Character Stand will join which Regiment for your entire Army right at the start of the first Reinforcement phase in the game. This also means that if attaching a Character Stand to a Regiment confers certain abilities, these count as if they have been bestowed upon the Regiment during the game.

When a Regiment is called to roll its Reinforcement Roll and a rule asks that this Roll is resolved under different conditions that the rest of this Regiment’s Class, make its Reinforcement Roll separately.

Priests are Casters and therefore both count for Enemy Interference.

Spires

Nords

No. Written in Bones helps you protect the Regiment against abilities and Special Rules that would remove the ability to Seize – not Core Rules.

The Old Dominion

No the wording has been updated to – The Regiment including attached [Characters] Re-Roll failed Hit Rolls when performing Impact Attacks.

Yes – the Fallen Divinity may purchase and benefit from Masteries like Eternal Discipline etc.

Insanity has no effect on a Regiment with the Automaton Special Rule even if a Character without the Automaton Special Rule is currently attached to it.

Yes. Since the Regiment gains a Special Rule and the Character Stand currently attached to it is part of that Regiment they will benefit from the Memory of Old ability for as long as the ability is active and/or for as long as they are attached to the Regiment.

Hundred Kingdoms

The Archangel performs a Charge Action and as a result would perform Impact Hits.

The Warlord and their Dynastic Ally are each other’s Dynastic Ally.

Yes. When a rule affects “Hit Rolls” it affects all Hit Rolls no matter how they come up. If it’s a Hit Roll, it is affected.

W’adrhun

Resonance is resolved at the moment the spell is cast. You target an objective zone, regiments in range of that zone gain Decay until the end of the round and that is the end of the Spell. Regiments coming within range of the objective zone later on will not suffer Decay.

Sorcerer Kings

Yoroni

The benefits from Kenshibu Dancer and Deadly Blades stack. So for example, if you suffer 1 Wound by rolling a “6” the one Wound would become 2 and then take 4 Resolve Tests as a result.

Kabuki was originally intended to allow the Ideal Card effect the Character was under the influence of. This could occur either by the Character activating with their own Ideal Card or if the Regiment they were currently attached to had previously activated with theirs.

However, player feedback revealed that this effect was open to interpretation and added unnecessary complexity to gameplay, with minimal benefit. As a result, Kabuki’s effect has been revised to align more closely with the style of the Sui Ideal.

Wording becomes – When this [Character] successfully casts a Spell Targeting a Friendly Regiment, until the end of the Round that Friendly Regiment may benefit from the effects of any Ideal Card it is Activated with regardless of their Battlefield Role.

Rulings

Rulings found in this section will be included in the next update. Once the rules are updated to include them, they will be removed from this page.

— Regiment Footprint and Incomplete Ranks —
Interaction:
Regiment 1 is comprised of 5 Stands and has an Incomplete Rank. Enemy Regiment 2 concludes its March in the empty space left in Regiment 1’s Incomplete Rank. Regiment 1 is then Charged and subsequently Engaged by an Enemy Regiment at which point the rules dictate that Regiment 1’s footprint is considered to be a rectangle as long and as wide as the its most complete Rank (page 45, “Incomplete Ranks”).

Conflict: Once Regiment 1 becomes Engaged its footprint changes causing Regiment 1 and Regiment 2 to overlap leading to an illegal interaction. The Core Rules does not provide a clear solution to this.

Ruling: Regiment 2 performs a 1” move directly away from the Target Regiment, from the position the Regiment 1 is, moving backwards a full 1”, halting 1˝ away from any Enemy Regiment and any piece of Garrison Terrain. If halting 1” away from any Enemy Regiment and any piece of Garrison Terrain is not possible it halts as far away as possible and the Player controlling Regiment 2 ensures that its next Activation will bring it in a legal position.